William S. Smith Library

SOUTH GEORGIA COLLEGE

 

   LIBRARY GUIDE 

 

Welcome! to the physical and electronic learning resource center for the College...

 

 

Visit us (anytime anywhere) at our website portal:

 

http://library.sgc.edu

 

 

Visit us on campus:

 

100 West College Park Drive

Douglas, GA 31533-5098

(Bldg. 17- campus map, next door to the College Union)

 

 

MAIN LIBRARY HOURS

Fall and Spring Semesters

M – TH              8 am – 9 pm

F                       8 am – 12 pm

Su                     4 pm – 8 pm

 

Hours that vary for Summer Semester and Between Semesters will be posted.

 

 

the Online Library Catalog

GIL @ SGC

 

 

RESOURCES

 

The Library’s website (http://library.sgc.edu) provides users access to Library information, services, and resources during open hours within the Library, as well as 24x7 anytime access from anywhere.

 

GIL@ SGC (http://gil.sgc.edu)

Through the Online Catalog, access is provided to some 80,000 items, including print, media, and

over 27,000 e-books in the NetLibrary collection.

 

New Acquisitions are constantly being added to the Library catalog.

               

GIL Universal Catalog (http://giluc.usg.edu)

Through the Union Catalog, real-time access is provided to the local GIL catalogs of collection holdings for all the University of Georgia System academic libraries.

 

GALILEO (http://galileo.usg.edu)

Through the statewide Virtual Library, access  is provided to over 100 databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals, encyclopedias, business directories, and government publications, with much of the content full-text.

GALILEO Password :  Off-campus connection to GALILEO is possible for students, faculty and staff with a password obtained through the “My Account” feature in GIL@SGC.

 

SGC Faculty Web Pages / Instructor Readings

Direct links to faculty web sites with course syllabi and links to required readings for courses are provided through the Library’s website portal.

 

Online Library Learning Center

(http://www.usg.edu/galileo/skills)

This series of ten tutorials is invaluable for learning to use GIL, GALILEO, and searching and evaluating results found on the Internet.
 

LIBRARY’S COLLECTIONS       

 

Circulating books are shelved according to Library of Congress classification, an alpha and numerical system.  Call number labels are located on book spines and stack range labels are located on the ends of each stack section, with A starting at the front of the library and continuing from side to side.

 

Reference books are currently shelved among the circulating books in classification order.  A “REF” designation on the spine call number indicates these books must be used within the library.  Photocopies may be made of Reference book content.

        Ready Reference books, the most current editions and annual titles, are shelved near the Reference Desk.

 

Atlases and Dictionaries are located in special shelving stands near the Reference Desk.  Popular reference titles for education and/or career information are shelved in the Career Carrel bookcase near the Map Cases in the back center of the library.

 

Periodicals: current issues are shelved in title order in the periodical seating area to the right of the library entrance;  back issues are shelved alphabetically by title in the Periodicals area past the Reference area.  Periodical issues must be used within the library; photocopies may be made of periodical content.

 

Newspapers are shelved in the periodical seating area to the right of the library entrance.  Newspapers must be used within the library; photocopies may be made.

 

Microfilm Back issues of newspapers are shelved in cabinets near the Reference Desk and in the far corner in the Periodicals area.  Periodical microfilm is shelved along with back paper format issues in title order.
 

BORROWING MATERIALS 

 

Materials may be borrowed with a current SGC ID card by students, faculty (including retired), and staff.

USG Distance Learning students at SGC may borrow Smith Library materials through Walk-in GIL Express with their respective USG ID card.

     Non-SGC/USG borrowers may check out Smith

     Library materials with an annual purchase

     Community User Library Card. 

 

GIL @ SGC Materials

All circulating materials in the Smith Library are checked-out at the Circulation Desk with a barcoded library card.  Student/staff/retired faculty loans are for 28 days with two renewals possible; SGC faculty loans are for one semester.

Community User loans are for 2 weeks with one renewal possible. 

 

GIL Universal Catalog Materials:  GIL EXPRESS

Materials not available in the Smith Library but available in the GIL Universal Catalog may be requested by SGC students, faculty, and staff through GIL EXPRESS.  A self-requesting process, requests are placed by the user directly via the Request feature within the user’s “My Account.”

Loans are for 28 days with 2 renewals possible.

 

Renewal of all GIL Materials (@SGC and UC)

Users self-renew all checked-out materials through the Renew feature of the user’s “My Account”  or ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk.

 

While overdue fines are not charged on any GIL materials borrowed, the materials checked out are the responsibility of the user.

 Loss or damage will incur a replacement cost plus processing fee.  Such fees incurred are obligations that must be met:  for future borrowing of library materials, for SGC registration, and for release of student academic records.

 

LIBRARY MATERIALS ARE PROTECTED AGAINST THEFT BY A SECURITY SYSTEM.  SETTING OFF THE ALARM WILL SUBJECT A USER’S BELONGINGS TO

SEARCH.

 

Inter-Library Loans (outside the USG System)

Materials neither available in the Smith Library nor through GIL Express from other University of Georgia System academic libraries may be borrowed through library-mediated ILL.

Submit an ILL request from the Library’s website:

http://library.sgc.edu/forms/loans.htm  or contact the ILL Office (389-4641).

Loan periods are those of the loaning library; renewals are possible as permitted by the loaning library.

 

Reserve Materials

Materials that faculty have placed on a “Reserve” status at the Circulation Desk may be borrowed for use within the library. 

Additional WEBSITE SERVICES     

 

Ask A Librarian

A reference, rather than a research, service for current students, faculty, and staff.  Requests yield brief responses, research strategies, or particular resource recommendations.  

 

Book Purchase Request Form

Faculty, students, and staff may request books appropriate to support the South Georgia College curriculum through this easily accessible and easily completed form.

 

IN LIBRARY SERVICES 

 

Library Computer Lab

SGC student-use networked computer workstations are available in the Lab for Internet and e-mail access as well as for word processing, spreadsheet, presentation, and foreign language tutorial software.

As an open lab, these workstations are available during all regular library hours.

 

Reference

Library staff offer guidance in navigating GALILEO resources and in designing search strategies for gathering and using information from the book collection and from available electronic resources.

 

Library Orientation/Class Instruction

With advance scheduling with a reference librarian, faculty may request general orientation or subject discipline library resource instruction.

 

Group Study Rooms

Three rooms are available for viewing of videos on reserve and for first come, first served group study.

 

Printing

Computer printing is available via cash or SGC ID card vending.  

 

Photocopying

A photocopier is available for making copies via cash or SGC ID card vending. 

 

Microfilm/microfiche Workstation

Equipment is available for reading and printing materials in these formats.  The workstation is located in the Reference area.

 

SGC ID Cards

College ID cards are issued upstairs in the Engram Student Union.  SGC ID cards serve as the Library Card, in addition to other college usage.

    

 

 


Librarybrochure.doc605